302 Spring 2009 students: It’s all about you

 

Welcome to 302, Beat Reporting

Please copy this and then answer each question in the comment section.  Make sure you (1) put your name at the top and (2) that you pay attention to spelling and grammar. After all, this is a journalism class. Don’t push the button until you flawlessly edit what you’ve written. You don’t want to embarrass yourself with sloppy writing. 

Finally, if there’s something relevant about yourself that you want to add that I didn’t ask, please do so.

  • Name. Year in school.
  • Where are you from?
  • Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
  • What is your major?
  • Career Goals?
  • Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
  • Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
  • As a reporter if you could cover any beat possible, what would it be?
  • Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
  • Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
  • On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your writing skills?
  • What books are you reading or  have read in the past three months?
  • What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
  • What is your favorite Web site?
  • Do you blog?
  • Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
  • Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
15 Responses to 302 Spring 2009 students: It’s all about you

  1. William Whited says:

    * Name. Year in school. My name is William Benjamin Whited. I am in my third year at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
    * Where are you from? I am from Lincoln, Neb.
    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I came here to up my future earning potential.
    * What is your major? I am a news-editorial major.
    * Career Goals? I would like to become a media agent.
    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I hope to get discipline and dedication out of this course, as well as a sense of accomplishment and identity in the press.

    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I learned how to play the piano for three years. I enjoy bike riding, fixing computers and going to auto shows.
    * As a reporter if you could cover any beat possible, what would it be? I would cover the university beat to increase overall public knowledge of university decisions and administrative activity.
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. Every professor I have attended a class for has told me that if I persist in my goals and work hard, I will succeed.
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No, I am the second person in my family to attend a university.
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your writing skills? I would rate my skills at a six.
    * What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? I have read the Spanish novel “Una Palabra Tuya” by Elvira Lindo and will soon read the Native American stories “Waterlily” by Ella Cara Deloria and “American Holocaust” by David Stannard.
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I frequent the Web sites LAtimes.com, nytimes.com and newseum.org. I enjoy reading newspapers such as the Omaha World Herald and Daily Nebraskan. Sometimes I thumb through magazines such as eWeek and Newsweek, as well as Popular Mechanics.
    * What is your favorite Web site? My favorite news Web site is cnn.com. My favorite fun Web site right now is the blog at williamwhited.com. The featured inventor is probably a distant relative of mine.
    * Do you blog? I do not blog.
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? If you hear the Vince Powers & Associates underwriting audio clip on 89.3 FM KZUM…I am the announcer.
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? I am applying to internships at this time. The communication and application processes are slow. I will keep applying and hoping for the best.

  2. Amanda Borg says:

    -Name. Year in school.
    My name is Amanda Borg and I am in my fourth and last year in college. Next
    semester I’ll be what many refer to as a “super senior”, but I’ll graduate and that’s
    all that really matters!

    -Where are you from?
    It’s difficult for me to answer this question because my dad was in the Army. I could
    make a list of all the different states I’ve lived in but I think I’ll stick to our current
    location; Holdrege, NE.

    -Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I came here because I want to develop a higher education.

    -What is your major?
    I am majoring in fun and slightly anal News-Editorial.

    -Career Goals?
    Games and gaming consoles have been in my life since I became cognizant of my
    surroundings. My main career goal is to write for a gaming magazine and would also
    enjoy discovering and writing about new forms of technology.

    -Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to
    get out of it?
    I have no previous experience in journalistic writing styles and would like to develop
    a better understanding and method of writing.

    -Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    Any attempts to sound like I have a life will be eradicated by the following
    statement; I spend plenty of time gaming on my computer and playstation. However,
    I do enjoy reading various books.

    -As a reporter if you could cover any beat possible, what would it be?
    My preferred beat would definitely be technology.

    -Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you
    unique.
    I was nearly in the olympics for archery.

    -Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No.

    -On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your writing
    skills.
    I would need a definition of “top-notch” to answer this question with
    confidence. However, I would say 6.

    -What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I am currently reading The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama and God Is Not Great
    by Christopher Hitchens.

    -What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I’ve just begun to regularly read nytimes.com.

    -What is your favorite Web site?
    My favorite social web site is Facebook and my favorite educational site is Wikipedia.

    -Do you blog?
    Yes.

    -Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    My experience is highly limited to what I’ve learned in college.

    -Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    No, not at this time.

  3. Kiah Haslett says:

    My name is Kiah Haslett and I am a sophomore. I am from Omaha, Neb., and I decided to attend UNL because it has a great journalism program and I am eligible for in-state tuition. I am a news-editorial and economics double major with a double minor in political science and women studies. My career goals are to work for a large daily newspaper as either assignment news or a business reporter. I want to write about what interests me for the rest of my life. I am taking this course to refine my writing and introduce myself to the newspaper workload. I hope to learn a lot about writing, finding stories and learning how to write better stories faster.
    I am interested in lots of things: movies, Jane Austen, cooking, Kurt Vonnegut, conversation and my friends. I volunteer for Heartland Big Brother/Big Sisters, work out, referee soccer and go shopping. I’m passionate about immigration, women’s rights and First Amendment issues.
    If I could cover any beat I wanted, it would be a business beat.
    Something off-kilter about me is that I want to burn a flag to celebrate my First Amendment right to burn a flag. I am not the first person in my family to attend a university; however, my parents were both the first people in their family to attend college.
    I would rate my writing ability at about a 5 or 6, but I think the quality of a story is dependent on the quotes and information contained in it – so it’s really a matter of asking the right questions.
    Books I’m reading right now are Catch-22 (Heller) and Emma (Austen). I read Northanger Abbey and Pride and Prejudice over break, and have already forgotten the last three months. =D I read TIME, Vogue, Men’s Vogue, GQ and Harper’s Bazaar regularly and get the New York Times and Washington Post in my e-mail. My favorite Web site is http://www.marriedtothesea.com. I blog about my DN stories at khaslett.wordpress.com
    My experience with working in the media includes starting an independent zine, writing for the Daily Nebraskan and working in Sen. Hagel’s DC press office in a summer internship. I am currently hunting down any internship related to the media, but no one seems to want me. =(

  4. brittneylynn1 says:

    My name is Brittney Schuessler. I am a senior from Potter, Nebraska.

    I came to UNL because of the plethora of majors offered, in-state tuition and a nice scholarship.

    I am majoring in fashion and news editorial.

    I would love to eventually work at Elle, Vogue or any other reputable fashion magazine. I hope to intern in New York City this summer at one of the places previously mentioned. If an internship proves to be a disappointment, which is unlikely, I’d also like to do PR for a couture designer.

    I am taking this course to become a better reporter. I hope to enjoy beat reporting by the end of the semester.

    My outside interests include the following: my sorority, family, friends, my new puppy and all that is fashion. I enjoy shopping, reading before bed and going for a jog in the fall. I am passionate about foster care and organ donation.

    If I could cover any possible beat, I’d like to cover fashion week or a runway show. Given that I live in Lincoln, Nebraska and it is unlikely our class will allow for that, I’d like to cover something in regards to the economy or children’s education.

    I am unique because I am part Japanese and people always question my ethnicity. People find it surprising that I ran the Los Angeles Marathon in 2004.

    I am not the first person in my family to attend a university.

    I would rate my writing skills a 6.75 on a scale of 1 to 10.

    I am currently reading “The One Hundred” by Nina Garcia, and I just finished reading “The Purpose Driven Life” by Rick Warren, which I have read numerous times. I am also about to start “The Audacity of Hope” by Barack Obama.

    I regularly read InStyle and Elle magazine. I also check the New York Times website, read the Journal Star and watch CNN in the morning with a hot cup of coffee.

    My favorite website is http://www.chickdowntown.com.

    I only blog when I’m required to for class. However, I’m considering taking my blogging experience to the next level.

    My media experience includes working at the Daily Nebraskan as a columnist and as editor-in-chief of This Season, an independent zine.

    I will be applying for a media related internship within the next few months.

  5. Tawny Burmood says:

    Name. Year in school.
    My name is Tawny Burmood, and I’m a junior.

    Where are you from?
    I’m from Waverly, a small town just outside of Lincoln.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I chose to come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln because it’s close to home and the journalism college is one of the best in the nation.

    What is your major?
    I’m a news-editorial major.

    Career Goals?
    When I started at the journalism college I solely wanted to be a reporter on a large daily newspaper. Now after taking visual literacy classes, I really enjoy doing design, so I’m not sure if I want to stick with my original plan. Ultimatley down the road I would like to work for a magazine.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I would like to walk away from this class with a big improvement on my writing and reporting. Also this class seems like it might be a little difficult for me juggling several stories at one time, so I hope to improve on my time management skills.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I love dancing, and I started dancing at a clogging studio when I was 6 years old, but quit right before I started college. A couple months ago I started clogging again and also entered myself into a hip-hop class. I’m still a little slow getting back into all the steps, but very happy I’m dancing again.

    Photography is also a love of mine. While I may not be to great at it, I take a lot of pictures, and I could spend hours editing them. I love black and white photography. I always start out with a color photo, but about 90 percent of the photos I have saved on my computer are black and white. My family would probably say they have way too many shadow boxes or picture frames than they need, because that’s what they usually get from me for christmas or birthday gifts. But no matter how hard I try to stray away from the normal gift, I always end up at the craft store to find things to go along with the collage of photos I took. And the scrap book isle, oh my gosh, I could go bankrupt. I’m always wanting to design a new page in my scrap book.

    As a reporter if you could cover any beat possible, what would it be?
    From the list of beats given in the class I would probably pick the environment beat.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I’m not sure if this counts as unique, but about a year ago I took a two week (5,000 mile) road trip with my parents and my little brother. We drove to San Francisco, CA., and took the coast up to Seattle, WA. Although we probably got on each others nerves on most parts of the trip, it’s something I reccomend everyone doing at least once in their lifetime.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Yes, but my little brother is a senior in high school and will be attending UNL in the fall.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your writing skills?
    I would probably say a 5, because I have lots of room for improvement.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    Sadly to say I can’t think of the last book that I read just for enjoyment. I tend to stick to the required texts for class.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I normally pick up the Journal Star, World-Herald and the Daily Nebraskan on campus. I also receive New York Times in my e-mail. As for magazines, the only subscribtion that I have is Blender.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    My most visted sites are probably MySpace and Facebook. But my favorite would be Google.

    Do you blog? No, but I’m taking NewsNetNebraska this semester, so I will be doing a weekly blog for the class. I also did a little bit for a class last semester.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    I worked at the Daily Nebraskan as a news reporter.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    Unfortunatley not at this time, but hoping I will be getting one here soon.

  6. Adam Ziegler says:

    * As a reporter if you could cover any beat possible, what would it be?
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your writing skills?
    * What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    * What is your favorite Web site?
    * Do you blog?
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?

    •Name: Adam Ziegler
    •Year in School: Junior
    •Where are you from: North Platte, NE
    •Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln: My grandparents live in Lincoln and I came here a lot as a kid to visit them, so I’m familiar with the town and like it and the university a lot.
    •What is your major: Journalism News-Editorial
    •Career Goals: To work as a reporter at a newspaper. I don’t have anything too specific in mind yet
    •Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it: Because I want to further develop my skills at covering and developing a beat.
    •Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about: reading, comic books, video games
    •As a reporter if you could cover any beat possible, what would it be: something related to local government or something with research/science
    •Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique: Almost all my t-shirts have some type of comic book image on them
    •Are you the first person in your family to attend a university: No both my parents and all my grandparents went to college.
    •On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your writing skills: 7.5
    •What books are you reading and have read in the last three months: The High Window by Raymond Chandler and a lot of Sherlock Holmes stuff
    •What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly: The New York Times website, Digg.com, the World-Herald, Time Magazine
    •What is your favorite Web site: Newsarama.com
    •Do you blog: No
    •Do you have any media/communication experience: Yes, I’m an editor at the Daily Nebraskan right now and I’ve worked there since I was a freshman.
    •Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time: I’ve interviewed for some internships but haven’t gotten anything yet
    Do you have an updated resume in your files: Yes

  7. Johnna Hjersman says:

    * Johnna Hjersman
    * Junior
    * I am from Alliance, Neb.
    * I came to UNL because I was already familiar with Lincoln and knew I would like living here. I also received very good scholarships from UNL after applying. It wasn’t until later that I decided I wanted to study journalism. Lucky for me, I chose the right school without even knowing.
    * News-Editorial
    * To be an editor for a home/fashion/food magazine, like Real Simple, Domino or even Better Homes and Gardens.
    * I hope to get a better understanding of beats, to improve my ability to think up story ideas and to become more comfortable and confident when interviewing sources and writing stories.
    * I love dancing. I’ve been studying some form of dance for almost my entire life. For the past two years I’ve been involved with the UNL Ballroom Dance Company. I am the current president of the company’s ballroom performance team and am very excited about our upcoming performances and competitions this semester.
    I love my Swedish heritage (though it’s not my only one). I began learning Swedish at a summer language village when I was 12. I was a villager for six years and returned later to work as a kitchen helper and counselor/Swedish instructor. The village will always be one of my favorite places on Earth.
    I love riding motorcycles. My father taught my brother and me how to ride when we were in elementary school by letting us drive a little blue Kawasaki up and down the alley.
    * I would love to cover home decor and design.
    * I have freckles in the shape of Orion’s Belt on my face.
    * A university? Yes, but not the first to seek further education after high school.
    * On a good day, 9. On a bad day, 7.
    * I recently finished “Jupiter’s Travels” by Ted Simon. It’s Simon’s personal account of traveling around the world on a Triumph motorcycle during the 1970s. I’ve been reading “”The Lost Continent: Travels In Small-Town America” by Bill Bryson for a month or so, and I just started reading a collection of short stories called “The Boat” by Nam Lee.
    * Real Simple, Lincoln Journal-Star, Omaha World-Herald, Daily Nebraskan and PalmBeachPost.com.
    * http://www.FoodNetwork.com
    * No.
    * During high school, I worked as a DJ at my hometown’s local AM radio station, AM 1400 KCOW.
    * I have a Dow Jones copy editing internship at the Palm Beach Post lined up for this summer.

  8. Allyson Felt says:

    * Name: Allyson Felt

    * Year in school: Sophomore

    * Where are you from? Omaha, NE

    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I came to the
    University because it has a highly respected journalism program. I also am enjoying the benefits of in-state tuition.

    * What is your major I am currently double majoring in news editorial and broadcast journalism.

    * Career Goals? I would like to be a world correspondent for a major news media source. I would also like to someday be an anchorwoman or an on-the-field sports reporter. I am hoping to do a lot of different things with my career.

    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I hope to gain a better understanding of what it means to be a reporter. I also would like to learn some tips for covering a beat. I am not at all sure about how to do that and I know this class will help me.

    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I am very passionate about dance. I am auditioning to take dance as a minor. I have danced for years and hope to be able to continue. I also love my sorority and am one of the house managers. Mostly, I just like to relax and have fun.

    * As a reporter if you could cover any beat possible, what would it be? I really like learning and something that interests me is science and new discoveries in science. Astronomy, new science studies, biological discoveries and anything having to do with the field of science. I didn’t want to go into the field of science, but I would like to learn more about it.

    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. One unique thing about me is that I was born left-handed. My grandparent’s believed it was improper, so they taught me to use my right hand and I have been using it ever since.

    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? I am the first person to attend a division one university.

    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your writing skills? I have a lot left to work on, but I believe my caliber of writing would fall around a 5.

    * What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? I actually cannot remember the names of the books but I have read a few different ones in the past few months. When I have the time, I thoroughly enjoy reading.

    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I read the Daily Nebraskan and the Omaha World-Herald for newspapers, and many different online news sources, such as Yahoo news, MSNBC, etc.

    * What is your favorite Web site? I really enjoy spending time looking at my Facebook page.

    * Do you blog? I have blogged in the past, but I do not currently have a blog.

    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I work at the Daily Nebraskan as a news and features assignment reporter.

    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? I am currently not pursuing one, but I would like to in the near future.

  9. Emily Anderson says:

    Name. Year in school. Emily Anderson. Junior.

    Where are you from? I’m from Tyler, Texas.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I visited UNL after my parents urged me to; we happened to be in Nebraska for a funeral and stopped in Lincoln to tour the campus. Several scholarships later, I decided UNL was the best place for me.

    What is your major? I’m majoring in News editorial, advertising and English.

    Career Goals? I don’t have any specific goals yet; I’m considering editing for a magazine, but I am also interested in the possibility of law school. One day, when I’m older, I would like to own a floral shop.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I am taking this class because I really want to learn how to ask better questions and propose better story ideas.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I love the outdoors: biking, camping, skiing, swimming and hiking. I’m also a collector; my roommates make fun of the number of magazines, book piles, coffee cups and picture frames I own. I love reading and film. I’m passionate about raising awareness about human trafficking in the United States.

    As a reporter if you could cover any beat possible, what would it be? I would love to cover a movies and film beat.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I am a Chippewa Indian. My grandparents lived on a reservation in Grand Portage, Minn., and introduced me to my love for dog sledding when I was a little girl.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your writing skills? 7.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? I am reading The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama and Flannery O’Connors Collected Works right now.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? I read Real Simple, Domino, Paste, Newsweek and Relevant magazines regularly. I also read the World Herald, Journal-Star, Tyler Morning Telegraph, Cape Cod Times and New York Times in print (where available) and on the Web.

    What is your favorite Web site? Marthastewartweddings.com. I have come to terms with my obsession with flowers.

    Do you blog? Yes: emanderson.blogspot.com. I don’t update frequently.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I’ve worked at the Daily Nebraskan as a copy editor and will begin work this semester at the Dailyer Nebraskan with the same job.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? This summer I am going to be working at the Cape Cod Times in Hyanis, Mass.

  10. Rob McLean says:

    Name: Rob McLean

    Year in school: Graduate Student

    Where are you from? Omaha, Neb.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? To become a better reporter.

    What is your major? English major as an undergrad

    Career Goals? My ultimate goal is to become an international journalist, though I would also like to report on politics.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I am taking this course to learn how to ask sources better questions, become a more confident journalist, and learn more about journalism’s application while in the field.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? Creative writing, reading, enjoying the outdoors and learning new languages.

    As a reporter if you could cover any beat possible, what would it be? Belarusian politics.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique. I enjoy learning to cook Chinese dishes.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? No

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your writing skills? 8.

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? I’m currently reading “The Forever War,” by Dexter Filkins (though haven’t been able to devote a lot of time to it in over three months). I’m reading a lot of books for classes though, which are turning out to be great reads (example is “The Elements of Journalism” by Bill Kovach and Tom Rosenstiel).

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? When I can find them I like “The Atlantic,” “Mother Jones,” and “The Nation.,” though I’m not a regular reader of any. I am trying to get into the habit of reading the New York Times and Omaha World Herald. I visit Cnn.com and huffingtonpost.com daily.

    What is your favorite Web site? huffingtonpost.com

    Do you blog? No

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? Yes, I was a proofreader for LexisNexis publishing company, a stringer for an alternative newspaper in Charlottesville, VA, and briefly a business reporter.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? Yes, looking into all options for the summer and for a part-time job during the semester.

  11. Ivana Jackson says:

    • My name is Ivana Jackson. I am a senior at UNL.
    • I am from Washington, D.C.
    • Once I received my scholarship I was sure that the University of Nebraska-Lincoln was the best place for me to further my education.
    • I am a news-editorial & broadcast major.
    • My long-term goal is to become the CEO of the Discovery Channel.
    • I am taking this course because I hope it allows me to refine basic skills that I learned in News 202. I also expect to learn to use my time more wisely.
    • I have been dancing since the age of five; dance is my passion. When I was 12 years-old I began the first liturgical dance group at my church. I enjoy reading. I am very involved on campus, a member of Melvin Jones Alumni, Afrikan People’s Union, and Students United for Nebraska. I am passionate about family and life.
    • As a reporter I would like to cover sports or politics
    • Something unique about me is that I am a twin. My brother attends Virginia State University
    • Yes, I am the first in my family to attend college.
    • I would rank my writing skills at a 6 on the scale.
    • In the last three months I have read, Is Bill Cosby Right: Or has the Black Middle Class Lost its Mind by Michael Eric Dyson and The Measure of a Man by Sidney Poitier
    • I read the Washington Post website and CNN.com daily.
    • My favorite website is Facebook.
    • Yes, I blog on non-educational sites.
    • I have media experience in the broadcast area. I have been a broadcast sports intern at Husker Vision for three years.
    • Yes, I am pursing a media related internship for the summer.

  12. Sara McCue says:

    Name. Year in school.
    My name is Sara McCue, and I am a junior at UNL.

    Where are you from?
    I’m from Alliance, Nebraska.

    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    I came to the UNL primarily for scholarships.

    What is your major?
    My majors are News-Editorial and Broadcasting.

    Career Goals?
    I would like to be a copy editor, primarily a music magazine.

    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I would like to improve my reporting skills. I hope to become better at thinking up story ideas.

    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I like to read classic novels. I also enjoy going to concerts and finding new independent music.

    As a reporter if you could cover any beat possible, what would it be?
    I’m happy with the health and medicine beat I’m doing for class. For a future career, I would like to do an entertainment beat.

    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    I organize my closet by color of the rainbow.

    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    Yes.

    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your writing skills?
    7.75

    What books are you reading or have read in the past three months?
    I read “Tender is the Night” and “Siddhartha” over break.

    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I read “Paste,” the “Daily Nebraskan,” the “Lincoln Journal Star,” and CNN.com.

    What is your favorite Web site?
    I like CNN.com.

    Do you blog?
    I only blog for journalism classes.

    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what?
    Yes. I’ve worked for the “Daily Nebraskan” as a news reporter and a copy editor.

    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    I’m applying for magazine internships for this summer.

  13. Liz Gasaway says:

    * Name. Year in school.
    I’m Liz Gasaway and I’m a junior.
    * Where are you from?
    I’m from Omaha.
    * Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln?
    It was the cheapest option available to me.
    * What is your major?
    I’m a News Ed major.
    * Career Goals?
    I would like to go to law school and practice criminal law.
    * Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it?
    I’d like to fine-tune my writing skills.
    * Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about?
    I like to read.
    * As a reporter if you could cover any beat possible, what would it be?
    If I were a reporter, my dream job would bet to embed with a military unit in Iraq or Afghanistan for a few months and see what stories would come of it.
    * Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique.
    To my complete shame, I finished the entire “Twilight” series of novels by Stephenie Meyer this summer in less than 24 hours. I may need that day of my life back, but at least I got it over with quickly.
    * Are you the first person in your family to attend a university?
    No, my dad went to the University of Nebraska at Omaha.
    * On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your writing skills? I’d rank it maybe a 5? I have no idea.
    * What books are you reading or have read in the past three months? I’m reading ‘I, Lucifer’ by Glen Duncan and ‘Boots on the Ground: A Month with the 82nd Airborne in the Battle for Iraq’ by Karl Zinsmeister right now.
    * What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly?
    I read the Journal Star and cnn.com.
    * What is your favorite Web site? My favorite website right this moment is a blog by a very angry individual called “Fuck You Penguin.” (Sorry for the language.)
    * Do you blog? Not if I can help it.
    * Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I don’t really.
    * Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time?
    I currently work at the Journal Star as the “Online Intern,” (so if you look on the front page of the site and see those lame blurbs under the lead photos, I probably wrote at least one of them) but I’m always looking for something to give me experience over the summer.

  14. cthoma12 says:

    My name is Cassandra (Cassie) Thomas and I am a senior hoping to graduate in May. (Cross your fingers!) I am from Decatur, Neb.

    I came to UNL because of the Ag College on East Campus. I had no idea what I wanted to major in but I knew that I wanted to be a part of the agricultural industry. After a multitude of majors and major changes, I realized that I could combine my passion for writing (and educating the public) with my passion for agriculture. Thus, in the middle of my sophomore year, I became the University’s newest Ag Journalism major (News-Editorial option).

    At this point I have very broad career goals. (A.K.A. I’ll take any job I can get!) However, I would love to work at a small town newspaper or agricultural magazine for a few years after college. Beyond that I would like to possibly open a restaurant or bakery.

    I am taking this course to get additional reporting skills. Most classes at the University require you to cover a broad range of topics. I am excited to focus on one specific area and gain extensive knowledge in that industry so I can report better and be a more informed individual.

    If anyone has ever met me, you already know that in the fall I spend a majority of my time selling pumpkins at farmer’s markets and grocery stores across the state. I am very passionate about niche markets’ role in the ag community.

    As a reporter, I am kind of unique in the fact that my major lends itself to an individual beat. As an Ag Journalism major, I would love to cover nothing else but issue in ag industry.

    I am unique because I share a house with my future brother-in-law who was also my professor.

    I am not the first person in my family to attend a university.

    I would rate my writing skills as a 6.5. I believe I can relate information better than some but there many people who have far more exceptional writing skills than I.

    I read “Outliers” over Christmas break.

    I read the Journal Star almost every morning. I also peruse MSN.com and CNN.com two or three times a week. Also, I read every issue of Nebraska Farmer. 

    Like everyone else, my most visited (and favorite) website would have to be Facebook. I also enjoy visiting site an array of sites focused on vegetable production.

    I only blog when I have to for class.

    I have very little experience in the media outside of the classroom.

  15. Nate Pohlen says:

    Name: My name is Nate Pohlen. I am a junior.
    Where are you from? I am from Lincoln, Neb. I am a graduate of Lincoln Pius X High School.
    Why did you come to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln? I came because of the great journalism college. I am also a big Husker fan.
    What is your major? I am a news-editorial major.
    Career Goals? I would like to get a job in a university media relations department. That involves writing, graphic design and public relations.
    Why are you taking this course (besides the fact it is required)? What do you hope to get out of it? I am taking this course to better understand how to report a beat. I hope to learn how to come up with different ideas on the same subject.
    Outside interests, hobbies, avocations, things you are passionate about? I am a diehard soccer player.
    As a reporter if you could cover any beat possible, what would it be? I would love a sports beat. If I had to choose one it would be the U.S. national soccer team.
    Tell me one interesting or surprising thing about you – something that makes you unique: I once popped a bone out of my elbow when I landed on concrete after falling from a basketball rim that I was dunking on.
    Are you the first person in your family to attend a university? I am the first child in my family to attend a university because I am the oldest. My parents both did, too.
    On a scale from 1 to 10, with 10 being top-notch, how would you rate your writing skills? I would give myself a 7.
    What books are you reading and have read in the last three months? Recently I read “The Art of Loving and the Joy of Being Loved” and “For Men Only.”
    What magazines, newspapers and news Web sites do you read regularly? The Lincoln Journal Star, Omaha World-Herald, New York Times, Daily Nebraskan and CNN.com.
    What is your favorite Web site? Nytimes.com
    Do you blog? I do not.
    Do you have any media/communication experience? If so, what? I was a member of my high school paper. I work in media relations right now.
    Are you pursuing a media related internship or job at this time? I have one at the Nebraska Athletic Department right now, where I write articles for Huskers.com and publish media guides.

Leave a Reply

